menu

Department of Linguistics

Academic menu

Academic

Linguistics staff 2017-18

David Adger

Professor of Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.11
+44 (0)20 7882 8289
d.j.adger@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Syntactic Theory, Syntax and its interfaces, Linking syntactic and variationist approaches to variable phenomena.

Diana ben-Aaron linguistics teaching fellow

Diana ben-Aaron

Teaching Fellow in Linguistics
Room : Arts One 1.38
+44 (0)20 7882 8333
d.ben-aaron@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Media language, discourse analysis and CDA, sociolinguistics, interview talk, language and nationalism, digital textuality.

Hagit Borer

Professor of Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.12
h.borer@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Comparative syntax, morphosyntax and language acquisition

Jenny Cheshire

Professor of Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.09A
+44 (0)20 7882 8293
j.l.cheshire@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics: Language Variation and Change, Language Contact, Conversational Narrative, Spoken Language: Syntactic and Discourse Structures.

Picture of Linguistics Lecturer Adam Chong

Adam J. Chong

Lecturer in Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.13
+44 (0) 20 7882 6638
a.chong@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Theoretical & experimental phonology, and phonetics: phonological acquisition and processing, phonological variation, phonology-morphology interface, prosody and intonational phonology, speech perception, Singapore English.

Colleen Cotter

Reader in Media Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.14
+44 (0)20 7882 8294
c.m.cotter@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, Discourse analysis, Ethnography of communication, News media language, Endangered and lesser-used languages, Irish (Gaelic), Language and culture, Language and identity, Public/written discourse, Language planning and policy, Technology

Esther de Leeuw

Senior Lecturer in Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.09
+44 (0)207 882 5911
e.deleeuw@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : multilingualism, bilingualism, L1 attrition, L2 acquisition, executive control, phonetics, phonology, sociophonetics, prosody

Alex Drummond

Lecturer

Research interests : Syntax, interfaces, binding and scope

Carmen Ebner linguistics teaching fellow

Carmen Ebner

Teaching Fellow in Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.09
+44 (0)20 7882 5911
carmen.ebner@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, language attitudes, language ideologies, language and identity

David Hall

Teaching fellow in linguistics
Room : Arts One 1.21
d.t.hall@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : DP syntax; head movement; linearization and word order; Multicultural London English and syntactic properties of multiethnolects; the syntax of noun modification; Japanese syntax; Mandarin noun phrase syntax.

Daniel Harbour

Professor of the Cognitive Science of Language
Room : ArtsOne 1.21
+44 (0)20 7882 5739
d.harbour@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Morphology, Semantics, Syntax, Understudied Languages

Jonathan Kasstan

Leverhulme Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Room : ArtsOne 1.13
j.kasstan@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Variationist sociolinguistics; sociophonetics; language death theory

Erez Levon

Reader in Sociolinguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.20
+44 (0)20 7882 8435
e.levon@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : sociolinguistics, gender/sexuality, indexicality, speech perception

Angi

Agnieszka Lyons

Lecturer in Applied Linguistics
Room : Arts One 1.16B
a.lyons@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Electronically-mediated communication and multimodality in discourse. The discursive representation of physicality in text-messages.

Luisa Marti

Lecturer in Hispanic Linguistics
Room : Arts One 1.24
+44 (0)20 7882 8323
luisa.marti@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Semantics and its interfaces with morpho-syntax and pragmatics

A picture of a person with long hair in the sun, smiling and looking at the camera

Kathleen McCarthy

Lecturer in Linguistics
Room : 1.13A Arts One
0207 882 7557
k.mccarthy@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Early phonological acquisition, first and second language acquisition, speech perception and production, bilingualism, acoustic-phonetics.

Hazel Pearson

Hazel Pearson

Lecturer in Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.10
+44 (0)20 7882 6637
h.pearson@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Formal semantics and pragmatics, cross-linguistic semantics, philosophy of language, psycholinguistics.

Devyani Sharma

Professor of Sociolinguistics | Head of Department
Room : ArtsOne 1.17C
+44 (0)20 7882 8338
d.sharma@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Sociolinguistics, New varieties of English, Bilingualism, Variation, Syntax, Typology.

Linnaea Stockall

Senior Lecturer in Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.10
+44 (0)20 7882 5742

Research interests : Morphology, Lexical semantics, Event semantics, Psycholinguistics, Neurolinguistics

Coppe van Urk

Lecturer in Linguistics
Room : ArtsOne 1.17B
c.vanurk@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Issues in minimalist syntax, with a particular focus on understudied languages.

A picture of Yang Ya Linguistics Postdoc - a man in a white t-shirt wearing glasses looking directly into the camera

Yang Ye

Postdoctoral Researcher
Room : Bancroft 2.38
+44 (0)20 7882 8299
yang.ye@qmul.ac.uk

Research interests : Language perception and attitude; persuasion; social cognition; stigma and stereotype; implicit measures

Return to top